I Wonder, do they?

A few days back I was passing through New Town when I heard the loud buzz of an aeroplane. I love aeroplanes and whenever one passes overhead, I make sure that I keep track of it until it disappears among the clouds. This time too I looked up, saw it’s huge wings and body and I kept staring at it, following it’s path. The sky was clear that day so I could follow it for a very long time until it appeared like any other tiny cloud in the sky.

An aeroplane always makes me wonder of all the possibilities that I could possibly have. This huge man made bird transport fulfilling dreams, decreasing distance between two hearts, carrying with it all sorts of moody people across rivers, lakes, cities, countries, continents, oceans and boundaries. Away from the mundane everyday towards mysterious weekends to unknown places or simply to home sweet home. Perhaps away from cozy little home or fun filled vacation towards a 9 to 5 everyday.

According to the flight tracking website Flightradar24 which keeps track in real time of all flights worldwide, there are 8000 to 20000 planes in the sky right now. Taking an average of a hundred seats per plane, there maybe anywhere between 800000 to 2000000 people flying mid-air right now, at this moment.

This many dreams and adventures being fulfilled right at this moment. This many minds facing all sorts of emotions, some happy, some sad, others maybe excited, bored or full of anxiety. This many stories and memories of what they have been through the past couple of days. This many endless thoughts of what they could have done or what they shouldn’t have done. This many people among the clouds invisible to the world down here for that moment they are up there. This many people waiting to unlock their next chapter when they finally are back in the world down here. The world looking towards them as they fly over them. Me staring at them as they pass overhead.

An aeroplane always makes me wonder, do they wonder about me as I wonder about them?

Leave a comment